This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Sivivatu set for Barbarians bow against England XV

16 May 2014

Photo: Getty Images

Sitiveni Sivivatu will make his first appearance for the Barbarians against England at Twickenham Stadium on June 1.

The Clermont and New Zealand wing, who scored 33 tries in his 48 Test appearances, is one of 12 players named in an updated group boasting more than 400 international caps with six All Blacks joined by representatives from five other countries.

The remainder of the squad - coached by Worcester Warriors' Dean Ryan - is due to be confirmed next week.

A potent set of backs includes scrum half Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester), fly half Brock James (Clermont), Australia’s versatile James O’Connor (London Irish), Hosea Gear (Toulouse), Benson Stanley (Clermont) and Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne).

The five forwards so far selected include Argentina captain Juan-Martin Leguizamon (Lyon), veteran hooker Andrew Hore, Samoa lock Joe Tekori (Toulouse) and powerful props in the shape of Tonga’s Sona Taumalolo (Perpignan) and Georgia’s Davit Zirakashvili (Clermont).

The uncapped player in the group is Australian fly half Brock James, who has scored more than 2,200 points in his eight seasons at Clermont.

Ryan said: “It’s very rarely that you get the opportunity to work with a squad containing this much quality.

“The Barbarians are a special entity and I’m very excited to be involved - it’s as talented a group as you could wish to put together."

Tickets for England XV vs Barbarians are still available via, from £25 for adults and £10 juniors.

Barbarians squad

Backs: Jimmy Cowan (Gloucester & New Zealand), Hosea Gear (Toulouse & New Zealand), Brock James (Clermont), James O’Connor (London Irish & Australia), Joe Rokocoko (Bayonne & New Zealand), Benson Stanley (Clermont & New Zealand), Sitiveni Sivivatu (Clermont & New Zealand).

Forwards: Andrew Hore (Unattached & New Zealand), Juan-Martin Leguizamon (Lyon & Argentina), Sona Taumalolo (Perpignan & Tonga), Joe Tekori (Toulouse & Samoa), Davit Zirakashvili (Clermont & Georgia).


IBM TryTracker