This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Team news: London Welsh v Bristol Rugby

28 May 2014

  • Team announced ahead of Championship final, first leg
  • London Welsh and Bristol each show four changes to semi-final teams
London Welsh

Photo: Getty Images

London Welsh and Bristol Rugby have both named their teams for tonight’s Greene King IPA Championship final first leg, with each featuring four changes to their respective semi-final line-ups.

In the London Welsh backs, Seb Stegmann moves to full back with Alan Awcock named among the replacements. Rhys Crane comes in to the side on the wing.

Chris Cook starts at scrum half in place of the injured Tyson Keats.

In the forwards, Daniel Browne returns to the starting line-up having missed Welsh's semi-final 2nd leg win over Leeds Carnegie.

“This is what we set out to do back in July – reach the Championship final,” said London Welsh head coach, Justin Burnell.

“We're up against the league winners in Bristol, but it's all to play for. We're at home and the crowd against Leeds at the Kassam Stadium was phenomenal and we're hoping for the same noise levels and support on Wednesday night.”

Ryan Jones

Photo: Getty Images

In the opposition line-up, Ryan Jones continues to skipper the side after being handed the armband at half-time of the semi-final victory over Rotherham, while Bristol make four changes from the side that started at Abbeydale.

Luke Baldwin comes into an otherwise unchanged backline, while Ross Johnston and Jason Hobson are named in the front row.

Nick Koster is included in the pack, as Marco Mama switches to open-side flanker in place of the injured Ross Rennie (knee).

Robinson opts for a four forwards and three backs split on the bench, with Ben Skirving added to the 22-man squad.

The sides' two previous meetings this season have produced one win apiece – Welsh winning 22-7 at the Kassam Stadium in November and Bristol coming out on top 25-21 at the Memorial Stadium last month.

London Welsh v Bristol Rugby, Wednesday, May 28, KO 19:45

London Welsh
Seb Stegmann, Rhys Crane, Tom May (c), Seb Jewell, Nick Scott, Gordon Ross, Chris Cook, Nathan Trevett, Nathan Morris, Peter Edwards, Will Spencer, Matt Corker, Peter Browne, Carl Kirwan, Daniel Browne
Replacements: Nathan Vella, Tom Bristow, James Tideswell, Ben West, Richard Thorpe, Rob Lewis, Alan Awcock

Bristol Rugby
Jack Wallace, George Watkins, Jack Tovey, Ben Mosses, Andy Short, Nicky Robinson, Luke Baldwin, Kyle Traynor, Ross Johnston, Jason Hobson, Ben Glynn, Glen Townson, Nick Koster, Marco Mama, Ryan Jones (c)

Replacements: Rhys Lawrence, James Hall, Mitch Eadie, Ben Skirving, Ruki Tipuna, Adrian Jarvis, Adam Hughes