This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Manchester European Sevens schedule unveiled

01 September 2014

Tom Mitchell

Photo: Getty Images

With less than two weeks until the European Sevens series enters the penultimate stage at the AJ Bell Stadium, the match schedule has been released

Taking place over the weekend of September 13 and 14, the tournament will see 12 teams take to the home of Sale Sharks for two days of back-to-back rugby.

The third leg of the Rugby Europe Grand Prix 7s Series in Manchester follows earlier rounds in Lyon and Moscow, before the tournament concludes in Bucharest on September 20 and 21.

England will kick-off the tournament against Romania, who finished 12th in the previous Grand Prix 7s legs. Fellow home nation Scotland, who finished second in Moscow, take to the field for the third match against Spain, whille Wales, who finished third in Russia, face France in match five.

Day two sees the cup, bowl, and plate winners decided, starting with the cup quarter-final at 10am and culminating with the cup final at 5.05pm.

As well as watching England play on home soil alongside Wales and Scotland, spectators will be able to see Belgium, Georgia, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Romania, Russia, and Spain compete in the Manchester European Sevens, hosted by the Rugby Football Union (RFU).

Renowned for bringing a carnival atmosphere to venues, most noticeably seen in the Marriott London Sevens, the seven-a-side game provides the ideal opportunity for the whole family to enjoy some first-class sport, and for as little as £10 per person.

Catch them if you can! European Manchester Sevens, September 13 & 14th, AJ Bell Stadium. Tickets available now from £10. Visit