This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Women's Rugby World Cup

The next two years in women’s international rugby represents a massive shift in the direction of the sport with more international match action than ever before.

Two Rugby World Cups will be on England’s radar in 2013 and 2014, with Rugby World Cups in Sevens and XVs.

Moscow will host the RWC Sevens from June 29-30 this year. The showpiece event in the Sevens calendar will take place at the iconic Luzhniki Stadium. The RWC Sevens will be the biggest rugby event ever to take place in Russia, with 24 men’s sides and 16 women's teams competing for Rugby’s Sevens ultimate prize.

England’s Women will be hot favourites to contest the title with Barry Maddock’s side winning two out of three IRB Challenge Cup titles in 2012 (Hong Kong and London) and winning the European Sevens Series. Canada, New Zealand and reigning world champions Australia will also be teams to look out for.

England will also be looking to better their disappointment of being knocked out of the quarter-finals of the RWC Sevens in 2009. They were later crowned Plate winners in Dubai.

Alice Richardson of England Women

Photo: Getty Images

Meanwhile in XVs, the world’s best 12 international sides will battle it out over 30 matches in the autumn of 2014 in France, all aiming to be crowned world champions.

New Zealand are the title holders, but England are ranked second in the world, and will be hoping to eradicate the memories of the 2010 RWC final which the host nation narrowly lost 13-10 in front of a then record crowd of nearly 14,000 people.


Find your local Rugby club

IBM TryTracker