This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

England Sevens Team

England's Isoa Damudamu leaps highest to collect the ball during an IRB Sevens World Series match against Kenya

Photo: Getty Images

England are perennial big-hitters on the international sevens circuit, with numerous titles and overall high-finishes to their name in the ten seasons of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

The side have won a total of seven HSBC Sevens World Series titles, including four at the prestigious Hong Kong Sevens and, in an encouraging sign that their best years are to come in the near future, the Wellington and Emirates Airline London Sevens crowns last season.

England have achieved four overall HSBC Sevens World Series top-three finishes in the last six seasons, with head coach Ben Ryan set on going one better after two second-places.

The side also won the Rugby World Cup Sevens title in 1993 and took home the silver medal from the 2006 Commonwealth Games in Australia.

2009/10 England Squad

The full England Sevens squad is listed below and the side contains players of real stature on the sevens circuit.

All-time IRB Sevens World Series points scorer Ben Gollings stretches over for yet another try

Photo: Getty Images

Ben Gollings has represented England with distinction for years, becoming the all-time leading scorer in HSBC Sevens World Series events and second in the all-time tries list. After 2009’s opening two events in Dubai and South Africa, Gollings had amassed 2, 143 points, dwarfing the total of Fiji and sevens legend Waisale Serevi, who has 1, 310.  In that total, Gollings has 185 tries.

Kevin Barrett of Saracens leads the side on the pitch with distinction, using the experience of 16 IRB Sevens World Series events.

2009/10 IRB Sevens World Series – England Squad
Player Team
Jake Abbott Worcester Warriors
Kevin Barrett (captain) Saracens
Chris Brightwell Bedford Blues
Dan Caprice Blackheath
Chris Cracknell Unattached
Isoa Damudamu British Army
Ben Gollings Gold Coast Breakers
Dan Norton Bristol Rugby
James Rodwell Moseley
Nick Royle Fylde
Matt Turner Bristol Rugby
Christian Wade London Wasps