This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

National and Divisional Leagues

Managed by the National Clubs Association (NCA), the National Leagues represent the 3rd and 4th tier of rugby in England, compromising of three divisions; National League 1, National League 2 North and National League 2 South.

Each division includes 16 semi-professional teams that together cover the length and breadth of England, from Redruth to Westoe, Fylde to Southend.

National League 1

  • 30 league games; 15 home, 15 away
  • Top finishing club promoted to Greene King IPA Championship
  • Bottom three clubs relegated to National League 2 North or South (depending on region)

National League 2 North & South

  • Top finishing club promoted to National League 1
  • 2nd placed clubs compete in promotional play-offs

Bottom three clubs relegated from each division; National League 2 North relegated to National League 3 Midlands/North, National League 2 South relegated to Nat 3 South West/London.

Managed by the RFU's Divisional Organising Committees, the Divisional Leagues cover levels 5-12 of rugby in England. Between them the four divisions (North, Midlands, London & South East and the South West) provide leagues covering all four corners of the country and over 1000 clubs.

Each division is headed by a National League 3 with the Midlands and North leagues leading to promotion into National League 2 North, and the South West and London & SE divisions feeding into National League 2 South. Below this level the leagues are split into area or CB based to limit travel and encourage participation.


Find your local Rugby club

IBM TryTracker