This website uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more by viewing our privacy and cookie policy.

Calcutta Cup

The Calcutta Cup

Photo: World Rugby Museum

The Calcutta Cup is presented to the victors of the England v Scotland fixture played annually as part of the 6 Nations Championship.
It was first contested in 1879 in a game that ended in a tie, England became the first victors the following year.

The trophy was made in Kolkata in 1878 using the melted down silver rupees that constituted the savings of the disbanded Calcutta Rugby Club, from whom the trophy derives its name.